Tooona mayo sandwich

Hey there,  soooo just cos were vegan or vegetarian doesnt mean we cant still have a yummy “tuna mayo” sandwich, but wait, tuna is a fish and the process of stealing them from the sea where they belong means that dolphins are killed and theres just no need for that an I dont particularly want to have a dead body in my sandwich……if we can survive and have a super healthy life without having to eat dead bodys then why wouldnt you?! Im living proof that anyone can be healthy and be vegan as I have a long history of illness in my life and iv not been in hospital since being vegan 2yrs ago, bearing in mind I used to be in hospital monthly!!!….being vegan doesnt mean you “miss out” on anything because absolutely anything can be veganized 🙂  when I went vegan about 2years ago I didnt think id be able to have a tuna mayo sandwich again but that didnt stop me I just put it out of my mind but I had been trying to recreate a tuna mayo style vagan sandwich filling to no avail none tasted like the sea, which is what I fancied tasting….then one day on a vegan page on facebook called “what fat vegans eat” a lovely woman shared her version of toona mayo and a light bulb went on above my head and I thought “omg why didnt I think of that it makes soooo much sense…” I cant find the post so I cant thank her by name but if your reading this then please comment so I can thank you in “person” you have rocked my world 🙂   so that secret ingredient I was missing was nori, toasted nori sheets are the seaweed that sushi is wrapped in, it tastes like the sea and is soooo good in this…..I can say with confidence that its very very very yummy cos my husband (who hates hummus and anything with chickpeas) loves this!  Pretty cool huh?!

Ingredients:

1can chickpeas drained
2 sheets of nori
1 large dill pickle (gherkin) or 4 small ones
Salt and pepper
1tbsp Apple cider vinegar
2tsp toasted sesame oil
Red onion sliced thinly
Wholewheat seeded bread
Spoonfull of egg free mayo
Cup of sweetcorn (cooked and cooled or drained straight out the can)

Method:

1-  place the chickpeas, torn up nori, vinegar,  salt and pepper, sesame oil and pickle into a food processor and pulse a few times till all combined then empty into a large mixing bowl (remember not to pulse too much u want a bit of texture)

2- add the sweetcorn into the bowl along with the mayo and stir to combine, you can add as much or as little mayo as you like.

3- now get your bread, thinly spread some vegan margarine one side of each slice (2 slice per person) then add the tooona mayo to one half of the bread then sprinkle with thin slices of red onion (you can use thin slices of pickled onion instead which is very yummy) then pop the other piece of bread ontop, cut into trianges or rectangles, whatever your heard desires hehe

The forth step is to eat it hahaha

image

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.