“Beef” and mushroom stroganoff with rice

Hey there, im so sorry its been soooo long since my last post iv had so much goin on recently an im just exhausted but now im back (inbetween redecorating my house and helping my best friend decorate her new home lol) ill keep you all updated 🙂 
Anyway I called a restaurant where im goin for a family meal on Saturday an they said they didnt have vegan options but they would be “willing to make a mushroom stroganoff but without ghe cream…..”  an I said to my friend that a stroganoff without the cream is a “notanoff” lol but then they said they would make veg fajitas so that will do.
So I have had a hankering for stroganoff since I spoke to them, then realised I have faux beef chunks in the fridge so I made my own stroganoff 🙂 

So here is my recipe for stroganoff so you never have to have a notanoff lol

Ingredients:
Faux “beef” chunks, sliced into strips (I use vbites)
3 portabello mushrooms, sliced into strips (any large mushroom)
1 onion, sliced thinly
1cup vegetable stock
1/2 cup soy cream (I use alpro)
2tsp dijon mustard
1/2 tbsp paprika (add more or less to taste)
1/2 tbsp parsley
Salt and pepper (to taste)
Optional: cayenne pepper dusted ontop to serve if you like a kick

Method:
1.  Fry onion in a little oil till translucent, add mushrooms and “beef chunks” an fry for 4-5mins, add mustard and paprika and stir thoroughly.

2.   Add the stock to the mixture now an simmer, add your dry parsley and salt an pepper to taste.

3.   Allow to simmer for about 5mins then add soy cream and mix, simmer for another few mins, taste as you go and adjust what you think it needs more of, make it according to YOUR tastes 🙂

4.   Serve on a bed of rice with a sprinkle of paprika or cayenne ontop (or really go nuts an put both ontop haha)

Hope you enjoy and again i apologise for bein MIA lol xxx

image

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on ““Beef” and mushroom stroganoff with rice

  1. mummy wood

    i look forward to trying this out when I get my next wee place looks lovely xxx

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.